Pairings Announced For ASC Tennis Championship

Pairings Announced For ASC Tennis Championship

Tournament Bracket

RICHARDSON, Texas — Hardin-Simmons' men's tennis team has been awarded a first round bye as American Southwest Conference West Division Champions at this weekend's 2012 ASC Men's Tennis Championship that will be held Friday-Sunday (April 27-29) at Summers Tennis Center and Tyler Tennis and Swim Club in Tyler, Texas.

The hosting rights of the ASC championships – which features both the women and the men – rotates each year. It was the ASC East women's turn to host and Texas-Tyler won the ASC East. The women's and men's ASC champion will each earn the conference's automatic bids into their respective NCAA Division III Tennis Championships.

Texas-Tyler and Hardin-Simmons – who have combined for the last 11 ASC titles – wrapped up their respective division's top seeds with perfect league marks and also received first-round byes in the six-team, single-elimination event. They will each wait for semifinal action on Saturday.

On Saturday at 9:30 a.m. at Tyler Tennis and Swim Club, HSU head coach Shane Williford's seven-time conference champion – and 11-time West Division champ – Cowboys (10-6, 6-0 ASC) will face the winner of Friday's 9:30 a.m. match also at TTSC between East No. 2 seed Mississippi College (10-3, 5-1 ASC) and West No. 3 seed McMurry (6-10, 3-3 ASC).

Texas-Tyler, who is also the four-time defending league champion, won their ninth straight ASC East Division title, will get underway at 9:30 a.m. on their home court against the winner of Friday's 9:30 a.m. quarterfinal at Summers Tennis Center between West No. 2 seed Mary Hardin-Baylor (9-6, 5-1 ASC) and East No. 3 seed Texas-Dallas (10-3, 4-2 ASC).

The ASC Men's Championship will be played on Sunday at 1 p.m. at Summers Tennis Center.  

Live statistics will be available throughout the event as well as selected live video streaming and video highlights. The links can be found on the conference's website,, and the official championships website,

NOTES: Free admission. . . Official tournament T-shirts will be available for $15, while souvenir programs will be $2. . . . This is the 16th year of the ASC Championships. . . . Returning all-tournament performers from 2011: Most Valuable Player Kevin Singer and Kevin Wright of Texas-Tyler on the men's side; Ashley Albro, Jessica Blundell and Morgan Wilkins of Texas-Tyler, Jean-Jean Gwo of Texas-Dallas, and twin sisters Malloy and Megan Aarhus of Mary Hardin-Baylor on the women's side. . . . The same school has won both the men's and women's ASC title for 10 straight years (Texas-Tyler from 2008-11, Hardin-Simmons from 2002-2007) and 11 overall (HSU in 1998, MC in 2000). . . The West Division leads the East in ASC men's titles 9-6, while the West Division leads the East in women's titles 10-5. . . Directions to Summers Tennis Center and Fan information for Tyler, Texas, can be found here: . . . Directors to Tyler Tennis and Swim Club can be found here:



April 27-29 / Summers Tennis Center & Tyler Tennis and Swim Club / Tyler, Texas

-Men's Seeds-

East Division: #1 Texas-Tyler (15-5, 6-0 ASC), #2 Mississippi College (10-3, 5-1 ASC), #3 Texas-Dallas (10-3, 4-2 ASC)

West Division: #1 Hardin-Simmons (10-6, 6-0 ASC), #2 Mary Hardin-Baylor (9-6, 5-1 ASC), #3 McMurry (6-10, 3-3 ASC)



Friday, April 27


Match 1: Mississippi College (E2) vs. McMurry (W3), 9:30 a.m., TTSC

Match 2: Mary Hardin-Baylor (W2) vs. Texas-Dallas (E3), 9:30 a.m., Summers

Saturday, April 28


Match 3: Hardin-Simmons (W1) vs. Winner of Match 1 [MC/McM], 9:30 a.m., TTSC

Match 4: Texas-Tyler (E1) vs. Winner of Match 2 [UMHB/UTD], 9:30 a.m., Summers

Sunday, April 29


Match 5: Winner of Match 3 vs. Winner of Match 4, 1 p.m., Summers




Year            ASC Champion

1997            Howard Payne

1998            Hardin-Simmons

1999            Schreiner

2000            Mississippi College

2001            Mississippi College

2002            Hardin-Simmons

2003            Hardin-Simmons

2004            Hardin-Simmons

2005            Hardin-Simmons

2006            Hardin-Simmons

2007            Hardin-Simmons

2008            Texas-Tyler

2009            Texas-Tyler

2010            Texas-Tyler

2011            Texas-Tyler


--- HSU ---