ASC Tennis Tournament Moved To UMHB, HSU Opponent Changes

RICHARDSON, Texas -- West Division seeding for this weekend's American Southwest Conference Men's Tennis Championship Tournament have been revised following notification from Texas Lutheran University late Monday (April 22) that an ineligible student-athlete had competed for the Bulldogs throughout the spring men's tennis season.
"Texas Lutheran Director of Athletics Bill Miller notified the Conference immediately upon discovering an ineligible player had competed during the spring semester matches," Amy Carlton, ASC Commissioner said. "Changes to the season results and tournament seeding were made according to conference policy adopted by the coaches and administrators in May 2010."
Under ASC Tennis Operating Code 1.1.1, the use of an ineligible singles and/or doubles player during a league dual match will result in forfeiture of the entire match by the offending team. The application of the policy resulted in forfeiture by Texas Lutheran of five ASC West Division dual matches in the spring season, and both the men's tennis West Division standings and seeds for the April 26-28 ASC Tennis Championship Tournament were adjusted.
In the men's West Division, the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor will be the No. 1 seed and regular-season division champion. UMHB will also serve as host for the men's and women's tournaments as the top seed in the men's West Division standings. Hardin-Simmons University moves to the No. 2 seed and Schreiner University moves into the No. 3 seed. No seeds in the men's East Division were affected by the conference action.
Seeding and the bracket for the ASC Women's Tennis Championship Tournament are unaffected. The women's tournament will also be held at Yvonne Li Tennis Center in Belton, Texas and hosted by UMHB.
Start times for the tournament will be announced on Tuesday.
ASC Tennis Championships
Hosted by University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Yvonne Li Tennis Center / Belton, Texas

April 26
Match 1: Hardin-Simmons (West 2) vs. Mississippi College (East 3)
Match 2: Texas-Dallas (East 2) vs. Schreiner (West 3)
April 27
Match 3: Texas-Tyler (East 1) vs. Winner HSU/MC
Match 4: Mary Hardin-Baylor (West 1) vs. Winner UTD/Schreiner
April 28
Championship: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4