Six Cowboys Named All-South Region By

Six Cowboys Named All-South Region By
MINNEAPOLIS – Hardin-Simmons' had six players earn seven spots on the 2015 all-South region teams that were announced on Monday.

Jessie Ramos was named first team as both a wide receiver and kick returner. The senior from Stamford had 77 catches for 1,466 yards and 17 touchdowns receiving and also averaged 16.5 yards on 19 punt returns with two touchdowns and 33.2 on five kickoff returns with another touchdown.

Defensive tackle Korey Zavala was named to the first team defense after recording 19 tackles for loss, 6.5 sacks and ranking third on the team with 77 tackles.

Junior punter Nico Francino was named first team as the punter. He averaged 43.6 yards per punt, which was leading the nation when he went down with a torn ACL in week nine. He hit 15 of his 30 kicks inside the 20.

Senior offensive tackle Marshall Agan and senior offensive guard Daniel Edwards were each named to the second team.

Senior defensive end Ryne Lewis was named a third-team all-region selection after recording 10.5 sacks, 17 tackles for loss and 68 total tackles.

The Cowboys went 9-2 on the year won a share of the American Southwest Conference and returned to the NCAA playoffs for the first time since 2008.

--- ---